Frescobaldi: Motets and Organ Works Lorenzo Ghielmi

Cover Frescobaldi: Motets and Organ Works

Album info



Label: Passacaille

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Lorenzo Ghielmi

Composer: Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583-1643)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 48 $ 12.50
  • Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583 - 1643):
  • 1Jesu Rex admirabilis, F 11.2302:38
  • 2Ave Virgo gloriosa, F 11.3103:26
  • 3O Jesu mi dulcissime, F 11.05 (a tenore solo)02:44
  • 4Capriccio sopra la bassa fiamenga F 4.05 ((Primo libro di Capricci))05:33
  • 5Toccata terza per sonarsi alla levatione, F 3.0306:40
  • 6Gagliarda seconda, F 3.2800:56
  • 7Gagliarda terza, F 3.01:36
  • 8Peccavi super numerum F 11.40 (2 canti e tenore)02:38
  • 9Tota pulchra es amica mea, F 11.15 (a 2 canto e tenore)02:25
  • 10Toccata avanti la messa della Madonna , F 12.3401:04
  • 11Canzon dopo l'epistola, F 12.1402:56
  • 12Toccata per l'elevazione, F 12.4502:53
  • 13Ego sum qui sum, F 11.2802:02
  • 14De ore prudentis procedit mel, F 11.7 (a 2 soprani)02:20
  • 15Aria detto balletto, F 3.2607:57
  • 16Canzon quarta, F 3.1603:48
  • 17Vox dilecti mei pulsantis, F 11.21.01: Prima pars (2 canti e tenore)01:49
  • 18Quam pulchra es, F11.21.02: Seconda pars (2 canti e tenore)02:01
  • 19Aria detta la Frescobalda, F3.3203:51
  • 20Toccata seconda, F 3.0203:53
  • 21Fantasia prima, F 6.0103:45
  • 22Toccata quarta per sonarsi alla levatione, F 3.0405:21
  • 23Toccata con il contrabbasso ovvero pedale, F 15.11 ((manoscritto di Torino))01:59
  • Total Runtime01:14:15

Info for Frescobaldi: Motets and Organ Works

Frescobaldi: world premiere of some Motets that had a missing part which was especially reconstructed by Lorenzo Ghielmi on the occasion of this recording.

The Monteverdi contemporary Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583-1643) is now unfortunately almost exclusively seen as an important and influential composer of works for keyboard instruments, but he also composed both sacred and secular vocal music throughout his entire creative period. The Italian Lorenzo Ghielmi and his ensemble La Divina Armonia show in their recording with PASSACAILLE that sacred vocal music is no less important and in connection with his organ works even results in a particularly charming program. La Divina Armonia was founded by Lorenzo Ghielmi in 2005. All the musicians involved in the Italian group have distinguished themselves for many years in the performance of Baroque music as soloists and musicians in several of the most renowned ensembles in this field. In La Divina Armonia they're coming together to play music from the Baroque up to the early Classical period, playing extraordinarily vividly, but in a beautifully cantabile manner at the same time.

La Divina Armonia
Lorenzo Ghielmi, organ

Lorenzo Ghielmi
has dedicated may years of his career to the study and performance of Renaissance and Baroque music. As one of the leading specialists for Baroque keyboard instruments of our times worldwide he has performed all over Europe, in Japan, Canada and the United States, and has made numerous solo-recordings for broadcast and CD.

Starting his international career as founder member of the famous group Il Gardino Armonica he in 2005 decided to dedicate more time to his solo playing and own projects, and founded his ensemble La Divina Armonia, with which in the meanwhile he realised numerous recordings, for instance organ concertos by Handel (two parts, both distinguished with the diapason d‘or in France, part II even with de Diapason d'année) and Haydn, the Passion after St. John by Francesco Feo as well as music by Bach.

The ensemble was invited to many of the most important festivals and stages for Early Music in Europa, amongst others the Festival Oude Muziek Utrecht (where they were Artist in Residence in 2017), Osterfestival Hall in Tirol, Salzburger Bachfest, Bozart Brussels, as well as to Oslo or Bruges.

Ghielmi teaches organ, harpsichord and chamber music at the Accademia Internazionale della Musica in Milan. From 2006 until 2015 he also held the chair of organ professor at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. Furthermore he is the organist of the Basilica of San Simpliciano in Milan.

Besides he published a book on Nicolaus Bruhns, and several essays on organ building in the 16th and 17th centuriers and on performing Bach‘s music.

Booklet for Frescobaldi: Motets and Organ Works

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO