Le Labyrinthe d'Ariane Arianna Savall

Album info



Label: Alia Vox

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Arianna Savall

Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 88.2 $ 13.20
  • 1Coinci, Anonyme: Efforcier m'estuet ma voiz04:57
  • 2Anonyme: Rotundellus I01:10
  • 3Anonyme: Amors mercé non sia04:20
  • 4Anonyme: Rotundellus II01:13
  • 5Sage, Anonyme: Strela do dia, D'apraes CSM 100/16604:46
  • 6Montserrat, Anonyme: Fantaisie sur Stella Splendens04:56
  • 7Anonyme: Lamento di Tristano / La Rotta04:50
  • 8Anonyme: Une jeune fillette05:11
  • 9Mudarra, Anonyme: Fantasía que contrahaze la harpa en la manera de Ludovico02:58
  • 10Kapsperger, Anonyme: Toccata II Arpeggiata03:37
  • 11Trabaci, Anonyme: Toccata Seconda & Ligature per l'arpa03:21
  • 12Merula, Anonyme: Folle è ben che si crede, 163804:49
  • 13Kapsperger, Anonyme: Toccata VI04:00
  • 14Monteverdi, Anonyme: Ritornello per l'arpa (L'Orfeo)01:21
  • 15Ribayaz, Anonyme: Españoleta03:02
  • 16Sanz, Anonyme: Folies d'Espagne07:29
  • Total Runtime01:02:00

Info for Le Labyrinthe d'Ariane

In her first solo album as a singer and harpist, Arianna Savall introduces us to a repertoire from the medieval and Baroque periods performed with seven different historical harps. The music comes from three countries where the harp has held a prominent position in cultural life: Italy, France, and Spain, in which the harp experienced a flowering of unique variety and beauty. Arianna Savall with her crystalline voice and her sweet playing, reaches the depths of these distant but at the same time so timeless music.

A lost paradise in which hope is awaiting now, to embrace us.

“On this occasion we join her in a joyful Labyrinth, one without a Minotaur, from which we emerge enriched by a beautiful experience both musical and mythological, thanks to the musical thread of another Ariadne and her newly evocative and inspirational journey in the company of harps and songs.” (Jordi Savall)

"Eight different ancient harps were used by Arianna Savall to record this program at Flawinne Castle in Belgium. The repertoire from the Middle Ages and the Baroque period comes from Italy, France and Spain, where the harp flourished in those times. In the intelligently conceived and entertaining program Le Labyrinthe d’Ariane, Arianna Savall plays and sings with complete abandon, a spirit of improvisation and spontaneous music-making joy hovering over everything. With her bell-clear singing and her fine instrumental playing, the musician penetrates deeply into the world of the labyrinth with a natural emphasis, subtle poetry and nostalgic sensitivity." (Norbert Tischer, pizzicato.lu)

Arianna Savall, vocals, harp

Arianna Savall
born in Switzerland, studied in Basel and Terrassa. She began studying early music performance practise with Rolf Lislevand at the Toulouse Conservatory in 1992. Between 1996 and 2001 she returned to Schola Cantorum Basiliensis for postgraduate studies in singing with Kurt Widmer and historical harp studies with Heidrun Rosenzweig, and in 2006/7 studied Spanish baroque harp with Andrew Lawrence-King in Barcelona. She made her debut as singer of baroque opera in Basel in 2000 performing the “Opera Seria” of Florian Leopold Gassmann. This was followed in 2002 by a highly successful Barcelona production of Moneverdi’s “Orfeo” directed by Jordi Savall, with Arianna as Eurydice. Her recordings with the Savall family and with Hespèrion XXI ensemble have received numerous awards. Arianna’s own albums for Alia Vox include “Bella Terra” (2003) and “Peiwoh” (2009), the latter also with contributions from Hirundo Maris’s Petter Udland Johansen and David Mayoral.

Petter Udland Johansen was born in Oslo, where he received his first voice and instrumental training. He graduated from the Norges Musikhøyskole, studying voice with Ingrid Bjoner and Svein Bjørkøy in 1996 and from Basel’s Schola Cantorum with Richard Levitt in 2000, making also additional studies with the tenor Hans Peter Blochwitz. His operatic and concert repertoire of classical music includes the works of Bach, Monteverdi, Mozart, and Mendelssohn as well as songs by Schubert, Grieg, Wolf, Mahler and Brahms. He has worked with conductors including Rinaldo Alessandrini, Jordi Savall, Pep Prats, Christer Løvold, Tom and Tobias Kjellum Gossmann. Groups with which he has given concerts and recordings include Sagene Ring, Capella Antiqua Bambergensis, Pratum Musicum, La Morra, Ferarra and Lucidarium. Together with Christer Løvold and Mark B. Lay, he founded the vocal trio Pechrima.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO