Antonín Dvorák: String Quartet No. 11 & Cypresses Quartet (Remastered) Prazak Quartet

Cover Antonín Dvorák: String Quartet No. 11 & Cypresses Quartet (Remastered)

Album info



Label: Praga Digitals

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Prazak Quartet

Composer: Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 13.50
  • Antonín Dvořák (1841 - 1904): String Quartet No. 11 in C Major, Op. 61, B. 121:
  • 1Dvořák: String Quartet No. 11 in C Major, Op. 61, B. 121: I. Allegro14:23
  • 2Dvořák: String Quartet No. 11 in C Major, Op. 61, B. 121: II. Poco adagio e molto cantabile07:29
  • 3Dvořák: String Quartet No. 11 in C Major, Op. 61, B. 121: III. Scherzo. Allegro vivo - Trio. L'istesso tempo08:28
  • 4Dvořák: String Quartet No. 11 in C Major, Op. 61, B. 121: IV. Finale. Vivace08:01
  • Cypresses, B. 152:
  • 5Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: I. I know that on my love to thee (Moderato)03:55
  • 6Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: II. Death reigns in many a human breast (Allegro ma non troppo)02:24
  • 7Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: III. When thy sweet glances on me fall (Andante con moto)02:24
  • 8Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: IV. Never will love lead us to that happy goal (Poco adagio)04:27
  • 9Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: V. The old letter in my book (Zde hledím na tvůj drahý list) - Andante02:58
  • 10Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: VI. You are my glorious rose (Andante moderato)02:03
  • 11Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: VII. I wander oft past yonder house (Andante con moto)01:50
  • 12Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: VIII. In deepest forest glade I stand (Lento)02:44
  • 13Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: IX. Thou only dear one, but for thee (Moderato)02:49
  • 14Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: X. There stands an ancient crag (Andante maestoso)01:53
  • 15Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: XI. Nature lies peaceful in slumber and dreams (Allegro scherzando)02:32
  • 16Dvořák: Cypresses, B. 152: XII. You ask why my songs (Allegro animato)02:57
  • Total Runtime01:11:17

Info for Antonín Dvorák: String Quartet No. 11 & Cypresses Quartet (Remastered)

Whether he was writing in imitation of Beethoven, Schubert, Wagner, and Brahms, Dvorák always winds up sounding like himself. In the String Quartet in C major, with its enormous structures and rigorous developments, Dvorák is at his most Beethovenian. Inevitably, however, the turn of the melodies, the progress of the harmonies, and the motion of the rhythms is pure Dvorák. But in the string quartet settings of his song cycle Cypresses, Dvorák is most himself, a warm-hearted melodist with touching harmonies and stirring rhythms. In these performances by the Prazak Quartet, Dvorák is always at his best because he is always himself. The Prazak Quartet plays with a clear but sweet tone, a supple but strong ensemble, and a sense of having lived with the music all its life. The interpretations are relaxed and natural, but deeply committed and completely compelling. In the Quartet in C major, the ensemble grants the music its due as form in motion, but makes every melody sing and every rhythm dance. In the Cypresses, the Prazak Quartet welcomes the music with the ardor of lovers and it makes every melody sigh and every rhythm embrace.

Prazák Quartet

Digitally remastered

The Pražák Quartet
one of today’s leading international chamber music ensembles - was established in 1972 while its members were students at the Prague Conservatory, and won major chamber music prizes early on, including first prize at the prestigious Evian String Quartet Competition, along with a special recording prize from Radio France. Since then, the quartet has gained attention for its place in the unique Czech quartet tradition, and for its musical virtuosity.

For more than 30 years, the Prazak Quartet has been at home on music stages worldwide. They are regular guests in the major European musical capitals such as Prague, Paris, Amsterdam, Brussels, Milan, Madrid, London, Berlin, and Munich, and have been invited to participate at numerous international festivals, where they have collaborated with such artists as Menahem Pressler, Jon Nakamatsu, Cynthia Phelps, Roberto Diaz, Josef Suk, and Sharon Kam.

The quartet has toured widely in North America, having performed in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Dallas, Houston, Washington, Philadelphia, Toronto, Montreal and many others. The quartet returns to the US and Canada every other year.

The Prazak Quartet has recorded extensively for Praga/Harmonia Mundi which, to date, has released 50 award-winning CDs. In addition to numerous radio recordings in France, Germany, the Netherlands, and the Czech Republic, the Prazak Quartet has also made recordings for Supraphon, Panton, Orfeo, Ottavo, Bonton, and Nuova Era.

As of 2020, violinist Marie Fuxová and cellist Jonáš Krejčí joined the quartet. The new members bring their extensive string quartet and chamber music experience, having played with the Pavel Haas, Škampa, Petersen and Schulhoff quartets as well as in many chamber orchestras and ensembles. They bring their experience and energy into the group while remaining faithful to the Czech quartet tradition, character and quality which are the longtime hallmarks of the Pražák Quartet. A new CD with the last string quartets of Josef Haydn will be released on the Aparté/Praga label in August 2021.

Booklet for Antonín Dvorák: String Quartet No. 11 & Cypresses Quartet (Remastered)

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO