Konstantin Vassiliev: Guitar Works, Vol. 1 Yuri Liberzon & Patrick O'Connell

Cover Konstantin Vassiliev: Guitar Works, Vol. 1

Album info



Label: Naxos

Genre: Guitar

Subgenre: Classical Guitar

Artist: Yuri Liberzon & Patrick O'Connell

Composer: Konstantin Vassiliev (1970-)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 9.00
  • Konstantin Vassiliev (b. 1970): Hommage à Tom Jobim:
  • 1Vassiliev: Hommage à Tom Jobim: I. Carioca02:37
  • 2Vassiliev: Hommage à Tom Jobim: II. Contemplation02:49
  • 3Vassiliev: Hommage à Tom Jobim: III. Jam Beat03:27
  • Cavatina:
  • 4Vassiliev: Cavatina06:00
  • Rose in the Snow:
  • 5Vassiliev: Rose in the Snow05:04
  • Fatum:
  • 6Vassiliev: Fatum09:13
  • Wanderer in Time:
  • 7Vassiliev: Wanderer in Time03:29
  • The Jazz Story:
  • 8Vassiliev: The Jazz Story05:10
  • Canto e danza:
  • 9Vassiliev: Canto e danza: I. Canto02:14
  • 10Vassiliev: Canto e danza: II. Danza03:00
  • El faro mágico:
  • 11Vassiliev: El faro mágico06:40
  • Obrío:
  • 12Vassiliev: Obrío03:16
  • Synestha (After Scriabin's Op. 20):
  • 13Vassiliev: Synestha (After Scriabin's Op. 20)07:42
  • Danza fortaleza:
  • 14Vassiliev: Danza fortaleza: No. 7, Cinderella02:37
  • 2 Russian Pieces:
  • 15Vassiliev: 2 Russian Pieces: No. 1, Vision04:03
  • 16Vassiliev: 2 Russian Pieces: No. 2, Dance of the Skomorokhs03:58
  • Total Runtime01:11:19

Info for Konstantin Vassiliev: Guitar Works, Vol. 1

Konstantin Vassiliev’s music synthesises several different styles including jazz, Russian folk music and contemporary Western traditions. This album contains music written over a 22-year period, with three works composed specifically for guitar soloist Yuri Liberzon. The Hommage à Tom Jobin was inspired by one of the creators of the bossa nova style, while the melancholic and lyrical contrasts of Rose in the Snow reveal Vassiliev’s gift for storytelling. Arias, romantic miniatures, variations and multi-character episodes further reveal Vassiliev to be a vibrant and exciting composer of wide-ranging gifts.

Yuri Liberzon, classical guitar
Patrick O'Connell, classical guitar

Yuri Liberzon
Internationally acclaimed concert classical guitarist and recording artist Yuri Liberzon was born in Novosibirsk, Russia and raised in Israel. He has given countless concerts across the US, alongside numerous appearances in international media.

Liberzon has released three albums in collaboration with GRAMMY-winning sound engineer and producer Nahuel Bronzini: Ascension (2015), ¡Acentuado! (2017, Soundset Recordings), and J.S. Bach – 3 Violin Sonatas (2020, Laudable Records). Liberzon has transcribed the music of Scarlatti and J.S. Bach for guitar, and these have been published in Soundboard Magazine and distributed in Europe by Bergmann Edition.

While in Israel, Liberzon studied with Yaron Hasson, and was the recipient of multiple America-Israel Cultural Foundation scholarships and grants. In 2000, Liberzon relocated to the US to study for his Bachelor of Music and Graduate Performance Diploma at the Peabody Conservatory with Manuel Barrueco, subsequently earning a Master of Music from Yale University with Benjamin Verdery, being awarded full scholarships at both institutions.

Patrick O’Connell
studied at the Peabody Conservatory of Music of the Johns Hopkins University with Manuel Barrueco and Ray Chester, and the San Francisco Conservatory of Music with David Tanenbaum, Dusan Bogdanovic and Marc Teicholz. While still a student at the latter he began his professional career with a debut solo performance at Carnegie Hall. After earning his master’s degree in guitar performance he joined the San Francisco Guitar Quartet, appearing on the album Chasing Light, which features numerous new works dedicated to the ensemble as well as his own arrangements.

O’Connell has been a featured performer with the San Francisco Guitar Quartet at numerous festivals and concert series worldwide. Notable performances include La Guitarra California International Guitar Festival in San Luis Obispo, Second Sundays Classical Guitar Concert Series in New York City, the Monadnock Music Festival in New Hampshire, the San Francisco Jazz Festival, the Festival of Contemporary Music in San Francisco, California and Dresdner Gitarrenfest, and at the Legion of Honor in San Francisco.

Booklet for Konstantin Vassiliev: Guitar Works, Vol. 1

© 2010-2023 HIGHRESAUDIO