Pretenders II (Remastered Deluxe Edition) Pretenders

Album info



Label: WM UK

Genre: Rock

Subgenre: Modern Rock

Artist: Pretenders

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1The Adultress (2018 Remaster)03:58
  • 2Bad Boys Get Spanked (2018 Remaster)04:06
  • 3Message of Love (2018 Remaster)03:25
  • 4I Go to Sleep (2018 Remaster)02:56
  • 5Birds of Paradise (2018 Remaster)04:15
  • 6Talk of the Town (2018 Remaster)02:44
  • 7Pack It Up (2018 Remaster)03:51
  • 8Waste Not Want Not (2018 Remaster)03:45
  • 9Day After Day (2018 Remaster)03:46
  • 10Jealous Dogs (2018 Remaster)05:37
  • 11The English Roses (2018 Remaster)04:30
  • 12Louie Louie (2018 Remaster)03:28
  • 13Talk of the Town (Demo)02:48
  • 14What You Gonna Do About It02:41
  • 15I Go to Sleep (Guitar Version; Outtake)03:00
  • 16Pack It Up (Radio Mix; Outtake)03:52
  • 17Day After Day (Single Mix)03:59
  • 18In the Sticks02:38
  • 19Louie Louie (Monitor Mix)03:33
  • Live in Central Park, August 1980:
  • 20Precious (Live in Central Park, August 1980)03:28
  • 21Space Invader (Live in Central Park, August 1980)02:41
  • 22Cuban Slide (Live in Central Park, August 1980)04:37
  • 23Porcelain (Live in Central Park, August 1980)04:17
  • 24Tattooed Love Boys (Live in Central Park, August 1980)03:46
  • 25Up The Neck (Live in Central Park, August 1980)05:43
  • Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981:
  • 26The Wait (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:19
  • 27The Adultress (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)04:06
  • 28Message of Love (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:29
  • 29Louie Louie (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:47
  • 30Talk of the Town (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:19
  • 31Birds of Paradise (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)04:15
  • 32The English Roses (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)04:49
  • 33Stop Your Sobbing (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:39
  • 34Private Life (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)07:06
  • 35Kid (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:40
  • 36Day After Day (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)04:48
  • 37Up the Neck (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)06:01
  • 38Bad Boys Get Spanked (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:15
  • 39Tattooed Love Boys (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:41
  • 40Precious (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)05:03
  • 41Brass in Pocket (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)03:18
  • 42Mystery Achievment (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)05:31
  • 43Higher and Higher (Live in Santa Monica, Sept. 1981)04:22
  • Total Runtime02:50:52

Info for Pretenders II (Remastered Deluxe Edition)

In 1981, Pretenders followed up their massive eponymous debut album with Pretenders II. The last album with Pretenders’ original line-up, the band continued the tremendous form of their debut album.

Curated by Chrissie Hynde, Pretenders II (Deluxe Edition) features the original album remastered by Chris Thomas, alongside demos, rarities, and two live performances. One is from a performance in Central Park, New York City, and the other from an electric performance at The Santa Monica Civic. The package contains a high-quality book, featuring several rare, unseen photos as well as brand-new liner notes from acclaimed music journalist Will Hodgkinson.

Following their debut album, Pretenders released two singles in the UK, Talk Of The Town and Message Of Love before Pretenders II arrived, with the former reaching #8 and the latter #11 in the UK singles charts. The appetite in the US maintained too, with Pretenders releasing an EP in the interim named “Extended Play”, containing five tracks that would later be on the Pretenders II album. With a clamoring for more Pretenders material, Pretenders II was released on 15th August 1981 to great fanfare. The album would end up peaking #7 in the UK, and #10 in the US, being certified Silver and Gold respectively in the process. Further highlights of the album include another cover of The Kinks, in the form of I Go To Sleep.

"The Pretenders' debut album was such a powerful, monumental record that its sequel was bound to be a bit of a disappointment, and Pretenders II is. Essentially, this album is an unabashed sequel, offering more of the same sound, attitude, and swagger, including titles that seem like rips on their predecessors and another Ray Davies cover. This gives the record a bit too much of a pat feeling, especially since the band seems to have a lost a bit of momentum -- they don't rock as hard, Chrissie Hynde's songwriting isn't as consistent, James Honeyman-Scott isn't as inventive or clever. These all are disappointments, yet this first incarnation of the Pretenders was a tremendous band, and even if they offer diminished returns, it's still diminished returns on good material, and much of Pretenders II is quite enjoyable. Yes, it's a little slicker and more stylized than its predecessor, and, yes, there's a little bit of filler, yet any album where rockers as tough as "Message of Love" and "The Adultress" are balanced by a pop tune as lovely as "Talk of the Town" is hard to resist. And when you realize that this fantastic band only recorded two albums, you take that second album, warts and all, because the teaming of Hynde and Honeyman-Scott was one of the great pairs, and it's utterly thrilling to hear them together, even when the material isn't quite up to the high standards they set the first time around." (Stephen Thomas Erlewine, ANG)


Digitally remastered

were formed in 1978 with singer Chrissie Hynde on vocals, Pete Farndon on bass, James Honeyman-Scott on guitar and Martin Chambers on drums.

They released two LP’s, Pretenders – which charted at #1 in the UK and #9 in the States - and Pretenders II, and one EP, Extended Play. The band enjoyed worldwide chart success with singles including Stop Your Sobbing, Kid, Brass In Pocket, Talk of The Town and I Go To Sleep. The band was constantly on the road and enjoyed heavy MTV rotation.

In 1982 they were dealt a difficult year: a parting of ways with Pete Farndon being swiftly followed by the death of James Honeyman-Scott. Pete’s death came a year later.

Subsequently the band’s line-up remained fluid and the band went on to release the albums Learning to Crawl, Get Close and Packed! between 1984 and 1990.

After a 4-year hiatus came the band’s next release Last of the Independents, followed in 1995 by Isle of View, a live acoustic album recorded over two nights in London with the Duke String Quartet.

1999 saw the release of Viva El Amor, the last album to be released on longtime label Warner Records, and their next album Loose Screw was released on Artemis Records in 2002.

Neil Young inducted the Pretenders into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2005, and their next release, Break Up The Concrete, came in 2008.

The band have toured the world and performed in front of over 4 million people. Pretenders continue to play together.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO