A Late Medieval Mass on the Rysum Organ Lorenzo Ghielmi & Ensemble Biscantores

Album info



Album including Album cover


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.50
  • Anonymous:
  • 1Praeambulum No. 7 (from "Cracow Tablature, ca. 1548")00:59
  • Johann Walter (1496 - 1570):
  • 2Aus tieffer Not: Verse 1 (from "Wittembergisch Geistlich Gesangbuchlein, 1524")01:11
  • Anonymous:
  • 3De profundis super discantum (from "Tablature of Joannes de Lyublyn, ca. 1540-48")01:09
  • Johann Walter:
  • 4Aus tieffer Not: Verse 2 (from "Wittembergisch Geistlich Gesangbuchlein, 1524")01:18
  • Anonymous:
  • 5Bells of the Rysum Parisch Church00:58
  • Nicolaus Cracoviensis:
  • 6Introitus de "Resurrectione Domini": Resurrexi, et adhuc tecum sum (from "Tablature of Joannes de Lyublyn")06:27
  • Hans Buchner (1850 - 1902):
  • 7Kyrie paschale (Alternating with Plainchant)06:40
  • 8Et in terra paschale (Alternating with Plainchant)07:08
  • Anonymous:
  • 9Praeambulum in principio cantus faciendus (from "Cracow Tablature")00:56
  • Conrad Rein (1475 - 1522):
  • 10Alleluia. Pascha nostrum01:46
  • Hans Buchner:
  • 11Victimae paschali laudes (Alternating with Plainchant)05:22
  • Josquin Desprez (1450 - 1521):
  • 12D’un autre amer - Victimae paschali (from "Tablature of Fridolin Sicher, ca. 1512-21")01:38
  • Anonymous:
  • 13Praeambulum super Fantasia plenurij (from "Oldenburg Tablature, ca. 1445")00:29
  • 14Credo in unum Deum - Patrem omnipotentem (Alternating with Plainchant) (from "Oldenburg Tablature")06:14
  • 15Wolhin lass vögelin sorgen (from "Buxheim Organ Book, ca. 1470")00:54
  • 16Summum Sanctus (Alternating with Plainchant) (from "Winsum Tablature, ca. 1435")02:35
  • Heinrich Finck (1444 - 1527):
  • 17O sacrum misterium (from "Cracow Tablature")02:27
  • Nicolaus Cracoviensis:
  • 18Praeambulum pro introductionis peduum aplicaris (from "Cracow Tablature")01:01
  • Anonymous:
  • 19Agnus Dei (Alternating with Plainchant) (from "Tablature of Joannes de Lyublyn")02:47
  • 20Mit ganczem Willen wünsch ich dir (from "Cod. Berlin Mus. ms. 40613")01:43
  • 21Praeambulum super d a f et g (from "Adam Ileborgh Tablature")00:51
  • 22Ite missa est00:30
  • 23Christ ist erstanden (from "Buxheim Organ Book")00:46
  • Heinrich Isaac (1450 - 1517):
  • 24Christ ist erstanden01:09
  • Anonymous:
  • 25Christus surrexit (from "Buxheim Organ Book")00:52
  • Tylman Susato (1500 - 1561):
  • 262 Galliards02:07
  • Total Runtime59:57

Info for A Late Medieval Mass on the Rysum Organ

Works by Johann Walter, Hans Buchner, Josquin Desprez, Nicolaus Cracoviensis, Heinrich Finck, Nicolaus Cracoviensis, Heinrich Isaac, Tylman Susato and from the Cracow Tablature, the Tablature of Joannes de Lyublyn, the Oldenburg Tablature, the Buxheim Organ Book and the Adam Ileborgh Tablature. In the German village of Rysum, in East Frisia, a precious instrument is preserved: an ancient organ, built in 1442/1513, which still has most of the original pipes. Lorenzo Ghielmi and the vocal ensemble Biscantores present a sort of “organ Mass”, where organ pieces and liturgical chant alternate according to the practice of the time. A journey between the late Middle Ages and the dawn of the Renaissance - this is how you could describe the musical programme of this album, set up in collaboration with the musicologist Konrad Küster, which perfectly illustrates the unique sounds of this instrument.

"In Rysum in East Frisia a particularly valuable historical organ has been preserved: This unique instrument from the years 1442 and 1513 still has most of its original pipes. The organist Lorenzo Ghielmi and the Ensemble Biscantores present here a kind of organ mass in which organ pieces and liturgical chant alternate according to the practice of the time. The Italian organist and harpsichordist, Lorenzo Ghielmi, is organist on the Ahrend organ (1991) at the Basilica di San Simpliciano in Milan, where he performed from 1992 to 1994 the complete organ works of J.S. Bach. He gives concerts throughout Europe, Japan and the USA as an organist and harpsichordist. He has made many radio and studio recordings. He plays with his instrumental ensemble La Divina Armonia and in duet with his younger brother Vittorio Ghielmi (viola da gamba and harpsichord). In France, he received the Diapason d’Or for his recordings of Bruhns and Bach. He also played organ & harpsichord in the first recordings of Il Giardino Armonico. Lorenzo Ghielmi, teaches organ, harpsichord and early music at the Milan Accademia Internazionale della Musica."

Lorenzo Ghielmi, organ
Ensemble Biscantores

Lorenzo Ghielmi
has dedicated may years of his career to the study and performance of Renaissance and Baroque music. As one of the leading specialists for Baroque keyboard instruments of our times worldwide he has performed all over Europe, in Japan, Canada and the United States, and has made numerous solo-recordings for broadcast and CD.

Starting his international career as founder member of the famous group Il Gardino Armonica he in 2005 decided to dedicate more time to his solo playing and own projects, and founded his ensemble La Divina Armonia, with which in the meanwhile he realised numerous recordings, for instance organ concertos by Handel (two parts, both distinguished with the diapason d‘or in France, part II even with de Diapason d'année) and Haydn, the Passion after St. John by Francesco Feo as well as music by Bach.

The ensemble was invited to many of the most important festivals and stages for Early Music in Europa, amongst others the Festival Oude Muziek Utrecht (where they were Artist in Residence in 2017), Osterfestival Hall in Tirol, Salzburger Bachfest, Bozart Brussels, as well as to Oslo or Bruges.

Ghielmi teaches organ, harpsichord and chamber music at the Accademia Internazionale della Musica in Milan. From 2006 until 2015 he also held the chair of organ professor at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis. Furthermore he is the organist of the Basilica of San Simpliciano in Milan.

Besides he published a book on Nicolaus Bruhns, and several essays on organ building in the 16th and 17th centuriers and on performing Bach‘s music.

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO