Serenata Española Xavier de Maistre

Cover Serenata Española

Album info



Label: Sony Classical

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Instrumental

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • Enrique Granados (1867 - 1916): 12 Danzas Españolas, Op. 37:
  • 15. Andaluza03:29
  • Isaac Albeniz (1860 - 1909): Suite Española No.1, Op.47:
  • 25. Asturias (Leyenda)06:33
  • 12 Piezas caraterísticas, Op. 92:
  • 312. Torre Bermeja (Transcribed for Harp by Marcel Grandjany)04:52
  • Suite Española No.1, Op.47:
  • 41. Granada (Serenata)04:47
  • Suite Española No. 2, Op. 97:
  • 51. Zaragoza (Capricho)03:45
  • Mallorca (Barcarola), Op. 202:
  • 6Mallorca (Barcarola), Op. 20206:14
  • Antonio Soler (1729 - 1783):
  • 7Sonata in D Major, R.8403:42
  • Joaquin Malats (1872 - 1912):
  • 8Impresiones de España: 2. Serenata española02:46
  • Jesús Guridi Bidaola (1886 - 1961):
  • 9Viejo Zortzico06:22
  • Mateo Albéniz (1755 - 1831):
  • 10Keyboard Sonata in D Major03:07
  • Eduardo Lopez Chavarri (1871 - 1970):
  • 11El Viejo Castello Moro (Transcribed for Harp by Marcel Grandjany)02:27
  • Manuel de Falla (1876 - 1946):
  • 12La vida breve: Danse espangnole No. 1 (Transcribed for Harp by Marcel Grandjany)03:56
  • Francisco Tárrega (1852 - 1909):
  • 13Recuerdos de la Alhambra03:59
  • Gerónimo Giménez (1854 - 1923): La Boda de Luis Alonso:
  • 14No.4, Intermedio04:13
  • Total Runtime01:00:12

Info for Serenata Española

"Unique collaboration with Flamenco legend: After his success with album Aranjuez in 2010, Xavier de Maistre presents a new Spanish project including a cooperation with Flamenco legend and castanets soloist Lucero Tena.

The album features popular repertoire of Spanish Classical Music: including compositions of Albeniz, Granados, Tarrega and de Falla, arranged for harp and castanets. The album shows this music under a completely new light, by keeping the nostalgic and intoxicating Spanish roots.

Xavier de Maistre and Lucero Tena have established their instruments, harp & castanets, as solo instruments in concert halls which makes the project very special. The combination of their instruments is unique and no similar product is on the market.

Xavier and Lucero were introduced to each other by director Jesús López Cobos. Xavier de Maistre fell in love with Lucero' story and personality. Shortly after, they decided to record a repertoire they had in common: Spanish Music.

The project has been recorded in one of the most beautiful halls in Paris, the Galerie Dorée at the Hotel de Toulouse, which has been featured in movies like ""Vatel"" and ""Marie Antoinette""."

„Pure Music […]. Xavier de Maistre is a virtuoso of the highest order, profoundly musical and capable of realizing a remarkable range of nuance.” (Gramophone)

Lucero Tena, castanets
Xavier de Maistre, harp

Xavier de Maistre
belongs to an elite category of soloists who are redefining what is possible with their instrument. Aside from new commissions from composers such as Krzysztof Penderecki and Kaija Saariaho, he performs works like Smetana’s “Ma Vlast” with breathtaking precision, presenting masterful arrangements of works that are usually played by an entire orchestra. The interpretation of these works, that few harpists before him have even considered playing, has contributed to his reputation as one of the most creative and extraordinary musicians of his generation.

Xavier de Maistre has appeared with major orchestras under the direction of such eminent conductors as Bertrand de Billy, Daniele Gatti, Kristjan Järvi, Philippe Jordan, Riccardo Muti, Andrés Orozco-Estrada, Andrés Previn, Simon Rattle, Heinrich Schiff und Gilbert Varga. He performs at many of Europe’s leading festivals, including Schleswig-Holstein, Salzburg, Rheingau, Vienna and Verbier, the Budapest Spring Festival and the Wurzburg Mozart Festival. He collaborates with such chamber music partners as Diana Damrau, Mojca Erdmann, Daniel Müller-Schott, Baiba Skride, Arabella Steinbacher and Magalie Mosnier.

Orchestral highlights of the 2013/14 season include an extensive tour with the Academy of St Martin in the Fields, performances with NHK Symphony Orchestra, Vienna Symphony Orchestra, tour concerts with Basel Chamber Orchestra and debuts with Helsinki Philharmonic, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic and Malmo Symphony Orchestras. The season concludes with the world premiere of a new concerto by Krzysztof Penderecki, reuniting de Maistre with Orchestre de Paris. De Maistre will also give solo recitals as far afield as Shanghai, Macao and Montreal and appears in duo performances with Diana Damrau at Schubertiade, Grafenegg and Istanbul Festivals, at the Munich Opera Festival (Bayerische Staatsoper) and London’s Wigmore Hall.

In 2008 Xavier de Maistre signed an exclusive contract with Sony Music. Releases so far have included music by Haydn, Rodrigo, Ginastera and Debussy – the latter for which he was awarded the Echo Klassik Award 2009 as “Instrumentalist of the Year”. In 2012 “Notte Veneziana”, a recording of baroque concertos with the Ensemble l’arte del mondo, was released. Highly acclaimed by the press, ‘Notte Veneziana’ entered the top ten in the classical music charts. His forthcoming recordings include a DVD with Diana Damrau and a CD recording of Mozart piano concertos arranged for harp, with Mozarteum Salzburg and conductor Ivor Bolton.

Xavier de Maistre was born in Toulon and began to study harp at the age of nine. He finished his studies with Catherine Michel and Jacqueline Borot in Paris. In 1998 he was awarded the first prize at the prestigious International Harp Competition in Bloomington, Indiana. He immediately became the first French musician to join the ranks of the prestigious Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra – a position which he left in summer 2010. Since 2001 Xavier de Maistre has taught at the Hamburg Academy of Music. He also gives regular masterclasses at New York’s Juilliard School of Music, Tokyo’s Toho University and London’s Trinity College of Music.

Booklet for Serenata Española

© 2010-2019 HIGHRESAUDIO