Hommage à Schumann Kammerata Luxembourg

Cover Hommage à Schumann

Album info



Label: Brilliant Classics

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chamber Music

Artist: Kammerata Luxembourg

Composer: Jörg Widmann (1973), György Kurtag (1926), Robert Schumann (1810-1856)

Album including Album cover Booklet (PDF)


Formats & Prices

FormatPriceIn CartBuy
FLAC 96 $ 12.00
  • Robert Schumann (1810 - 1856): Fantasiestücke in A Minor, Op. 73:
  • 1Fantasiestücke in A Minor, Op. 73: I. Zart und mit Ausdruck03:16
  • 2Fantasiestücke in A Minor, Op. 73: II. Lebhaft, leicht03:19
  • 3Fantasiestücke in A Minor, Op. 73: III. Rasch und mit Feuer03:53
  • György Kurtág (b. 1926): Hommage à Robert Schumann, Op. 15d:
  • 4Hommage à Robert Schumann, Op. 15d: I. Merkwürdige Pirouetten des Kapellmeisters Johannes Kreisler - Vivo00:42
  • 5Hommage à Robert Schumann, Op. 15d: II. E.: der begrenzte Kreis … - Molto semplice, Piano e legato00:33
  • 6Hommage à Robert Schumann, Op. 15d: III. … und wieder zuckt es schmerzlich F. um die Lippen - Feroce, agitato00:44
  • 7Hommage à Robert Schumann, Op. 15d: IV. Felhó valék, már süt a nap… (töredék-töredék) [Eine Wolke war ich, jetzt scheint schon die Sonne] - Calmo, scorrevole00:21
  • 8Hommage à Robert Schumann, Op. 15d: V. In der Nacht - Presto00:52
  • 9Hommage à Robert Schumann, Op. 15d: VI. Abschied (Meister Raro entdeckt Guillaume de Machaut) - Adagio, poco andante05:02
  • Robert Schumann: 6 Gesänge, Op. 107:
  • 106 Gesänge, Op. 107: I. Herzeleid01:39
  • 116 Gesänge, Op. 107: II. Die Fensterscheibe01:48
  • 126 Gesänge, Op. 107: III. Der Gärtner01:34
  • 136 Gesänge, Op. 107: IV. Die Spinnerin01:17
  • 146 Gesänge, Op. 107: V. Im Wald02:07
  • 156 Gesänge, Op. 107: VI. Abendlied02:20
  • Jörg Widmann (b. 1973): Nachtstück:
  • 16Nachtstück08:43
  • Robert Schumann: 6 Studien in kanonischer Form, Op. 56:
  • 176 Studien in kanonischer Form, Op. 56: I. Nicht zu schnell01:51
  • 186 Studien in kanonischer Form, Op. 56: II. Mit innigem Ausdruck03:30
  • 196 Studien in kanonischer Form, Op. 56: III. Andantino01:42
  • 206 Studien in kanonischer Form, Op. 56: IV. Innig03:33
  • 216 Studien in kanonischer Form, Op. 56: V. Nicht zu schnell02:02
  • 226 Studien in kanonischer Form, Op. 56: VI. Adagio03:49
  • Total Runtime54:37

Info for Hommage à Schumann

Founded in 1985, the Kammerata Luxembourg has established itself at the centre of the country’s musical life with new commissions, concert series and recordings, supported by its ministry of culture. One recent enterprising series was named ‘The European Union Enlarges’, focusing on the chamber music of future EU states, and others such as this album have constructed enlightening juxtapositions of modern and Romantic-era repertoire.

Few composers from the 19th century have exercised so potent an influence upon composers of our time as Robert Schumann. His abrupt changes of mood and intense, passionate commitment to individual expressive states have seized the imagination of many composers as well as listeners. Not the least of them is Schumann’s fellow German AribertReimann, In arranging the Fantasiestücke Op.73, Reimann altered not a note of the clarinet part while arranging the piano accompaniment for the unusual combination of flute, a harp and two violas, which enables him to explore both the sombre timbres and the more ethereal hues of the score.

The Op.107 songs are united by both a theme of unrequited love and a mood of wistful other-worldliness, which Reimann accentuates with an often-Expressionist recasting of the piano part for string quartet. The other original work here is the collection of canonic pieces originally written for a pedal piano and arranged by Schumann’s contemporary Theodor Kirchner. Meanwhile, the two contemporary responses to Schumann are undertaken in a spirit of the most sincere love and homage. Kurtág’s instrumentation for clarinet, viola and piano refers back to the Op.132 Märchenerzählungen – fairy tales – and he peppers his score with both literary allusions and references back to the object of his homage. Jörg Widmann likewise evokes Schumann’s Op.23 Nachtstücke in his own trio for clarinet, cello and piano. Anyone fearful of new music need not hesitate: Widmann insinuates himself into a world of Romantic melancholy with uncanny skill.

The creative genius of Robert Schumann, his unbridled, dreamlike fantasy and his close affinity to poetry and literature, has inspired many composers after him. This highly original program offers several works written as Hommage à Schumann: by György Kurtág (Hommage a R. Sch. for clarinet, viola and piano), Jörg Widmann (Nachtstück, for clarinet, cello and piano), as well as original works by Schumann himself, arranged for different ensembles by Aribert Reimann (Fantasiestücke Op. 73, for clarinet, flute, harp, two violas and 6 Gesänge Op. 107 for soprano and string quartet) and Theodor Kirchner (Sechs Studien, for violin, cello and piano).

Excellent performances by Kammerata Luxembourg, well known for its innovative programming. They recorded for Brilliant Classics works by Koechlin and Emmanuel. The booklet contains liner notes in both English and French.

Kammerata Luxembourg

No biography found.

Booklet for Hommage à Schumann

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO