Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Believe Recordings

Genre: Songwriter

Subgenre: Alternative Folk

Interpret: James Vincent McMorrow

Komponist: James Vincent McMorrow

Das Album enthält Albumcover

Entschuldigen Sie bitte!

Sehr geehrter HIGHRESAUDIO Besucher,

leider kann das Album zurzeit aufgrund von Länder- und Lizenzbeschränkungen nicht gekauft werden oder uns liegt der offizielle Veröffentlichungstermin für Ihr Land noch nicht vor. Wir aktualisieren unsere Veröffentlichungstermine ein- bis zweimal die Woche. Bitte schauen Sie ab und zu mal wieder rein.

Wir empfehlen Ihnen das Album auf Ihre Merkliste zu setzen.

Wir bedanken uns für Ihr Verständnis und Ihre Geduld.


  • 1Rising Water04:55
  • 2I Lie Awake Every Night03:19
  • 3Last Story04:47
  • 4One Thousand Times03:19
  • 5Evil04:41
  • 6Get Low04:10
  • 7Killer Whales05:00
  • 8Seek Another04:08
  • 9Surreal05:38
  • 10Lost Angles04:20
  • Total Runtime44:17

Info zu We Move

James Vincent McMorrow meldet sich mit einem neuen Album zurück. Sein nunmehr drittes Studiowerk wird den Titel „We Move“ tragen und via Believe Recordings erscheinen.

Sein neues Album „We Move“ entstand in ständigem Wandel und wurde von ihm zwischen Toronto, London und seiner Heimatstadt Dublin aufgenommen. Man darf in Gänze vom bisher ausgedehntesten und ambitioniertesten Werk von James Vincent McMorrow sprechen, hat er sich mit diesem Album doch merklich vom sehr persönlichen und intimen Vorgänger „Post Tropical“ entfernt. „We Move“ ist auf der anderen Seite jedoch auch ein wenig minimalistischer und versteht sich eher als offenes Portrait von Angst und auch innerer Unruhe. Es geht um die mentale Zerbrechlichkeit und wie sich ein/e Jede/r im Leben weiterentwickelt.

In jedem Fall markiert „We Move“ einen weiteren, bemerkenswerten Schritt auf der musikalischen Reise des Songwriters. Es ist in seiner Gesamtheit eine Sammlung von Werken, die dazu bewegen sollen, sich von niemandem vorschreiben zu lassen, wie ein/e jede/r zu leben hat. Während der Zeit, wenn man aufwächst, verliert man Dinge auf dem Weg. „We Move“ soll verbildlichen, dass es sehr wohl möglich ist zu behalten, was man will, aber auch hinter sich zu lassen, was belastet.

James Vincent McMorrow, Gesang, Gitarre

James Vincent McMorrow
Written in constant transition – and recorded between Toronto, Dublin and London – ‘We Move’ is James Vincent McMorrow’s most expansive, generous and ambitious record to date. There is, on the other hand, something more stripped-back – vulnerable, even – surfacing for the first time: far from the dense, protective imagery at the heart of ‘Post Tropical’, ‘We Move’ is ultimately a record open in its portrait of anxiety and social unease. For McMorrow, it’s about celebrating mental fragility – and how we move forward in life – rather than “people listening to my songs and believing that I’m out in the forest all day long, thinking about trees. Because I’m actually at home, trying to convince myself to go out and get milk.”

The first steps to ‘We Move’ took place in 2014, when James – having been asked to write for different artists’ projects – started sketching out ideas for others on tour (and subsequently stopped over-analysing his own work). Intent on doing the opposite of everything he’d done thus far, McMorrow then came off the road, but kept exploring: first through Barcelona, then Canada, and stopping in Los Angeles for six particularly fish-out-of-water months, where the songs for the album crystallised. He returned to Dublin determined not to just produce another album himself, but to work with people who could articulate the unique world he heard in his head (“I grew up wanting to write songs like Neil Young but produce them like The Neptunes”). And so James reached out to a few key co-producers he’d met whilst travelling, who formed the backbone of ‘We Move’: namely, Nineteen85 (Drake, DVSN), Two Inch Punch (Sam Smith, Years & Years), and Frank Dukes (Kanye West, Rihanna). Mixing took place largely in Miami with one of McMorrow’s all-time heroes, Jimmy Douglass - known for his work from Donny Hathaway through to Timbaland – who finessed the record’s warm, vintage yet forward-thinking feel.

The result is an album about movement – geographically, mentally, emotionally – which remains focused on finding your place in that future. First track ‘Rising Water’ is starkly-produced and skyscraper-sized in its sense of catharsis (“I never once was sad for what I’ve done”): ‘Evil’, meanwhile, questions whether you might in fact be a bad person, because you don’t see life the way other people do (its tone is celebratory rather than ominous, however). Heavier still is ‘I Lie Awake Every Night’, which sees James address for the first time the eating disorder he has battled since he was a child (“it’s about lying in hospital when I was a kid, thinking I shouldn’t be there, and trying to reconcile those two things”). ‘We Move’ reacts against McMorrow’s instincts to obscure ideas such as this, and ultimately embraces a shared, collective awkwardness, and the idea that maybe we’re all putting on a brave face in some way.

Beginning with Rising Water, ‘We Move’ continues a remarkable journey for the Dublin-born singer and songwriter, whose early work offered little clue as to the sounds and situations that would follow. It’s a remarkably assured collection, informed by this idea that you might not have to listen to others when they tell you how they think life is supposed to go; and that as you grow up, you lose things along the way. Rather, ‘We Move’ suggests it’s possible to keep what you want to keep, and lose what you want to lose.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2021 HIGHRESAUDIO