Marie et Marion - Motets & Chansons from 13th Century France Anonymous 4 and Bruce Molsky

Cover Marie et Marion - Motets & Chansons from 13th Century France

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: harmonia mundi

Genre: Classical

Subgenre: Chant

Interpret: Anonymous 4 and Bruce Molsky

Komponist: Anonymous

Das Album enthält Albumcover Booklet (PDF)


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 88.2 $ 12,30
  • Marie
  • 1Mater dei plena - Mater virgo pia - EIUS (Mo 66)02:20
  • 2He mere diu - La virge marie - APTATUR (Mo 146)01:30
  • 3A la clarte qui tout - ET ILLUMINARE (Mo 189)02:21
  • 4Marie assumptio afficiat - Hujus chori suscipe - TENOR (Mo 322)02:34
  • 5Chanson - De la gloriouse fenix05:38
  • 6Ave lux luminum - Salve virgo rubens - NEUMA (Mo 56)02:00
  • The Song
  • 7Plus joliement c'onques - Quant li douz tans - PORTARE (Mo 257)01:31
  • 8Reverdie - Volez vous que je vous chant03:52
  • 9J'ai les biens - Que ferai biau sire - IN SECULUM (Mo 138)01:07
  • 10Que ferai biaus sire - Ne puet faillir - DESCENDENTIBUS (Mo 77)01:23
  • Marion
  • 11Pensis chief enclin - FLOS FILIUS EIUS (Mo 239)02:13
  • 12L'autre jour par un matinet - Hier matinet trouvai - ITE MISSA EST (Mo 261)01:33
  • 13Quant florist la violete - El mois de mai - ET GAUDEBIT (Mo 135)01:46
  • 14Sans orgueil et sans envie - MAIOR IOHAN NE (Mo 225)01:56
  • 15Trois serors - Trois serors - Trois serors - PERLUSTRAVIT (Mo 27)01:25
  • 16Chanson - Amors me fait commencier04:19
  • 17En mai quant rosier - L'autre jour par un matin - HE RESVELLE TOI ROBIN (Mo 269)01:21
  • The Sorrow
  • 18Pucelete bele et avenant - Je languis des maus - DOMINO (Mo 143)00:59
  • 19Diex qui porroit - En grant dolour - APTATUR (Mo 278)02:02
  • 20Pour chou que j'aim - Li joli tans - KYRIELEISON (Mo 299)02:21
  • Marie-Marion
  • 21Chanson - J'ai un cuer trop lait04:39
  • 22Par une matinee - Mellis stilla - DOMINO (Mo 40)01:39
  • 23Or voi je bien - Eximium decus - VIRGO (Mo 273)02:50
  • 24Plus bele que flor - Quant revient et fuelle - L'autrier joer - FLOS FILIUS EIUS (Mo 21)02:40
  • Total Runtime55:59

Info zu Marie et Marion - Motets & Chansons from 13th Century France

Renowned for their unearthly vocal blend and virtuosic ensemble singing, the four women of Anonymous 4 combine historical scholarship with contemporary performance intuition to create their magical sound. On their 1994 album Love’s Illusion, the extraordinary quartet brought 13th century motets of courtly love from the Montpellier Codex to the top of the classical charts – spending 29 weeks on the Billboard Top 200. Twenty years later, they return to the source – this time exploring songs with texts that juxtapose desire for the earthly lady Marion and adoration of the heavenly Virgin Mary.

'A rich compilation of French motets (…) lovingly and radiantly sung' (The New York Times)

Anonymous 4

Anonymous 4
Four women got together for a music reading session one afternoon in the spring of 1986; they wanted to hear what medieval chant and polyphony would sound like when sung by female voices. Since then, Anonymous 4 has explored music from the year 1000; the ecstatic music and poetry of the 12th-century abbess and mystic, Hildegard of Bingen; 13th- and 14th-century chant and polyphony from England, France, and Spain; medieval and modern carols from the British Isles; American roots music; and works newly written for the group. The ensemble has performed on major concert series and at festivals throughout North America, Europe, and Asia. Enchanted by their unearthly vocal blend and virtuosic ensemble singing, Anonymous 4’s listeners have bought nearly two million copies of the group’s recordings on the harmonia mundi label.

Bruce Molsky
To play traditional music, you’ve got to be something of a folklorist, hand-selecting songs learned from field recordings, festivals, and old-timers. Bruce Molsky goes above and beyond: the world’s premier old-time fiddler walks around with a library’s worth of lyrics and music humming in his head.

If It Ain’t Here When I Get Back is the title of Molsky’s March 2013 release, his first album since 2006’s Soon Be Time. It is an aural autobiography, paying tribute to the people Molsky has lived his musical life with over the past 45 years and incorporating the sounds of his travels, which have taken the Bronx-born musician from Appalachia to Australia and just about everywhere in between. “Community is integral to the music,” Molsky explains. “Most of us started playing in a social context. The music is all about pulse and heartbeat - everybody has that, it’s just expressed a little differently in different places. There’s always common ground that we can find.”

And find it he does. Molsky’s brand of “global folk” has led to stints with the GRAMMY-nominated Fiddlers 4 and the Irish, Hungarian, and Dutch musicians of the supergroup Mozaik. His many cultural influences are well represented on If It Ain’t Here When I Get Back, from “Bimini Gal,” found on an LP that featured Bahamian guitarist Joseph Spence, to the playful instrumental “Growling Old Man and Grumbling Old Woman,” a traditional Métis fiddle tune learned from field recordings of the Ojibwe people in Western Manitoba.

One common element of these widespread musical cultures is the storytelling aspect of their folk music. Molsky’s unparalleled musicianship and emotive delivery of the lyrics make listeners brave the storm-tossed sea of “Wreck of the Dandenong,” a traditional tale about a nineteenth century Australian shipwreck, and long for the vast, lone prairie of “The Cowboy,” a romantic Western song penned by Glenn Ohrlin.

An avowed do-it-yourselfer, Bruce played every instrument on It Ain’t Here When I Get Back and self-produced the album, which was recorded in two sessions, noting, “It’s really intense going into the studio and trying to remain objective about the music you’re putting down.” The result is an album that’s more intimate than his previous releases, as though the listener is hearing Molsky playing on the porch or in the parlor.

Listening to If It Ain’t Here When I Get Back, it’s impossible not to hear echoes of Mike Seeger, Ray Alden (whose 1860s fretless banjo is used on “Cumberland Gap”), Tommy Jarrell, or any number of musicians recorded by Alan Lomax. Though he reveres his musical inspirations, Molsky is no recreationist. He blends myriad sounds and styles and puts his own spin on them, producing songs that are both old and new, traditional and fresh, and he makes it seem effortless.

Twenty years after the release of his first album and seventeen years since he left his day job as an engineer to pursue music full time, Bruce Molsky has released the record of his career with If It Ain’t Here When I Get Back, a deeply personal musical journey that will influence young folk musicians as he was once—and still is—influenced. “It’s a great feeling to be a link in the chain,” he says.

Booklet für Marie et Marion - Motets & Chansons from 13th Century France

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO