One-Track Mind Becoming Quintet

Album Info

Album Veröffentlichung:


Label: Posi-Tone Records

Genre: Jazz

Subgenre: Modern Jazz

Interpret: Becoming Quintet

Das Album enthält Albumcover


Formate & Preise

FormatPreisIm WarenkorbKaufen
FLAC 88.2 $ 14,30
  • 1Free Time04:10
  • 2One-Track Mind05:53
  • 3Here She Comes04:59
  • 4One-Sided Love Affair04:15
  • 5I Owe It All To You04:56
  • 6Twisting & Turning04:05
  • 7Onward04:34
  • 8Indestructible03:24
  • 9Last Smile05:57
  • 10That Uncle G Thang04:59
  • 11Stay Awhile05:58
  • Total Runtime53:10

Info zu One-Track Mind

Posi-Tone Records unveils the carefully curated debut recording of the Becoming Quintet and keeps their musical message focused on evolving the expression of their One-Track Mind. This novel project features the individual talents of five emerging artists with cohesive camaraderie who are focused on creating a series of meaningfully fresh musical presentations. Each member of the group (trumpeter Eric Wortzman, saxophonist Markus Howell, pianist Luther Allison, bassist Liany Mateo and drummer Zach Adleman) brings a tremendous and unique talent to the collective, and each one also contributes an individual musical statement to the program. Everything is meant to entertain and delight, and a splendid time is guaranteed for all!

For this album, I chose to use the aesthetic ideas suggested by classic Victorian era English rhyme to curate all the aspects of the production process. I also specifically selected musicians who are old familiar faces: Art Hirahara, Boris Kozlov, and Rudy Royston. There are some new friends as well: Alexa Tarantino, Nick Finzer, and Sam Dillon. The carefully selected musical program features some borrowed compositions taken from earlier Posi-Tone releases, which were subsequently produced to create performances reminiscent of the mid-1960 s, the blue period of modern jazz. I sincerely hope everyone will experience as much Maximum Enjoyment" listening to these musical offerings as I did producing them. (Marc Free, producer)

Markus Howell, alto saxophone, flute on 4 & 9
Eric Wortzman, trumpet
Luther Allison, piano
Liany Mateo, bass
Zach Adleman, drums
Michael Dease, trombone
Gina Benalcazar, bass trombone

Markus Howell
is a part of a dynamic co-lead group called Becoming Quintet. The concept behind this nucleus is to continue evolving into something greater with fresh musical ideas. They are inspired to stay “becoming” something new and “become” what was already predestined. Markus’ composition, One-Track Mind is the title track for Becoming Quintet’s debut CD with Posi-Tone Records. They are on a unified “one-track mind” toward sharing their collage of music with the world.

Becoming Quintet
is an exciting new jazz collective featuring Eric Wortzman (trumpet), Markus Howell (alto sax/flute), Luther Allison (piano), Liany Mateo (bass), and Zach Adleman (drums). The ensemble features original music by all the members of the band, plus a few selections from modern influences. Members of the group have garnered numerous awards and have taken their music around the world.

Dieses Album enthält kein Booklet

© 2010-2022 HIGHRESAUDIO