Painted Lucky Daye

Album info



Label: RCA Records

Genre: R&B

Subgenre: Hip Hop Soul

Album including Album cover

I`m sorry!


due to territorial constraints and also different releases dates in each country you currently can`t purchase this album. We are updating our release dates twice a week. So, please feel free to check from time-to-time, if the album is available for your country.

We suggest, that you bookmark the album and use our Short List function.

Thank you for your understanding and patience.

Yours sincerely, HIGHRESAUDIO

  • 1Roll Some Mo04:52
  • 2Late Night04:00
  • 3Extra05:53
  • 4Concentrate03:36
  • 5Ready For Love (Interlude)01:50
  • 6Karma03:04
  • 7Paint It04:12
  • 8Real Games05:31
  • 9Misunderstood04:07
  • 10Floods05:25
  • 11Call03:31
  • 12Try Your Fire04:17
  • 13Love You Too Much07:45
  • Total Runtime58:03

Info for Painted

Singer/songwriter Lucky Daye continues to capitalize on the clamor created last year with the release of his debut single "Roll Some Mo" and his EP I. Earlier this year, the Bounce-Worthy New Orleans-native kept his wave going with the track "Karma" and now fans are sure to catch a vibe with his latest EP II. The four-track project showcases Lucky’s signature blend of R&B, funk and even hip-hop and adds to the anticipation of his upcoming album Painted.

The new EP kicks off with “Karma” and then flows into “Paint It,” where Lucky tries his hand at a range of vocal tones and offers up a few rap bars towards the end. The infectious, and perhaps the standout track of the project, “Real Games” follows, and it’s as if Lucky is at home with its mid-tempo vibe and intricate instrumentation. The EP ends with the touching ballad “Misunderstood,” and we are left wanting more. Overall, the rollout leading up the full album has proven more than effective as we are excited to hear what else this promising artist has in store.

Lucky Daye
is the alias of David Brown, a Los Angeles-based singer and songwriter with a solid foundation in classic soul who is stylistically a little left of center, neither retro nor commercial. Like contemporaries BJ the Chicago Kid and Daniel Caesar, he's a synthesist of traditional and progressive R&B modes, showcased on his major-label debut EP, I (2018). Before he signed a solo deal, Brown co-wrote songs for Keith Sweat, Ne-Yo, Ella Mai, and Mary J. Blige.

Born David Debrandon Brown, Lucky Daye is originally from New Orleans, Louisiana. Raised in a cult that forbade secular music, he nonetheless discovered an innate knack for singing. After his mother left the cult, Brown immersed himself in classic R&B and eventually fell particularly hard for the likes of Stevie Wonder and Rick James. Uprooted by Hurricane Katrina, he moved to Tyler, Texas, but soon relocated to Atlanta, Georgia to pursue music. He established himself as a songwriter and background vocalist, and across 2008 and 2009, landed credits on material by Keith Sweat (a handful of cuts on Just Me) and Ne-Yo ("She Got Her Own"). Brown wasn't as active the next few years -- he did write for Boyz II Men ("Believe Us") -- though he shifted gear during the latter half of the 2010s. During 2016 and 2017, he co-wrote songs released by Keke Palmer ("Enemiez"), Ella Mai ("10,000 Hours," "Down"), Trey Songz ("Song Goes Off"), and Mary J. Blige (including two tracks off Strength of a Woman), among other contemporary R&B artists. Signed as a recording artist to the RCA-supported Keep Cool label, Brown -- by then living in Los Angeles -- made his debut as Lucky Daye in 2018. First was "Little More Time," a Victoria Monet collaboration included on the soundtrack for Insecure's third season. Next came the single "Roll Some Mo," followed shortly thereafter by I, the song's parent EP. These six cuts, all written with and produced by D'Mile, prompted comparisons to Frank Ocean but also fell somewhere between comparatively soul-rooted progressives BJ the Chicago Kid and Daniel Caesar. (Andy Kellman, AMG)

This album contains no booklet.

© 2010-2020 HIGHRESAUDIO